Eras of Books

The title is more dramatic than it should be; this is just a list of favorite books, divided into groups. It is not fancy, but since the first thing I do when I go into someone’s house is give their bookshelf a cursory glance (if I cannot find it, I am confused) and I love it when bloggers and authors and agents give lists of their favorites, I imagine I can give as good as I get.
Childhood Favorites, AKA, books that I love forever because they imprinted on me as a child and teen:
The Blue Sword (Robin McKinley)
Till we Have Faces (C.S. Lewis)
Abolition of Man (C.S. Lewis)
Mara Daughter of the Nile (Eloise Jarvis McGraw)
Anne of Green Gables (but mostly Anne of the Island, because I’m a romantic, and the whole Anne/Gilbert thing finally gets resolved!) (L.M. Montgomery)
The Horse and His boy (C.S. Lewis)
The Bronze Bow (Elizabeth George Speare)
The Witch of Blackbird Pond (Elizabeth George Speare)
The Westing Game (Ellen Raskin)
Teens and early Adulthood books:
C.S. Lewis’ space trilogy (Out of the Silent Planet, Perelandra, and That Hideous Strength)
Ivanhoe (Sir Walter Scott)
Girl Meets God (Lauren Winner)
The Harry Potter books (J.K. Rowling) (note: the 7th book came out when I turned 21…did I go to bar? No. I went to the midnight release party at the bookstore. Yes Ma’am)
Exodus (Leon Uris)
More Recently:
The Wall (John Hersey)
Jephte’s Daughter (Naomi Ragen)
Heretics (G.K. Chesterton)
Orthodoxy (G.K. Chesterton)
Mind of the Maker (Dorothy L. Sayers)
Seraphina (Rachel Hartman)
The Scorpio Races (Maggie Stiefvater)
Pilgrim’s Regress (C.S. Lewis)
Persuasion (Jane Austen) (this is my favorite Austen, by the by)
There are quite a few missing from these lists, but those are a few highlights off the top of my head. Just for fun.
Leave a Reply

