Thanksgiving and Update

Got back last night from traveling home for Thanksgiving. My husband and I are lucky in that our parents live in the same city and are long-time friends, so we can easily spend time with both families. Random things to follow in list form.
  1. The 9 hr trip there and back went well, with minimal baby-screaming.
  2. We watched Inside Out for the third time, and are still impressed. Sadness is my favorite, which seems an odd thing to say…
  3. We saw Mockingjay part 2 in theaters (because husband’s parents babysat!) and I was not as impressed with it as with Mockingjay part one. They really could have done away with all the love triangle drama. It felt so superfluous to the story. Plus I feel like there were some PTSD-related character beats missing. They did a really good job of making you sympathetic to the Capitol civilians at the right moment though.
  4. After seeing all kinds of tweets and blog posts about NaNoWriMo, I was inspired to write new stuff, which I keep meaning to do, but keep not doing. My brain is so focused on worrying about the book on which I just did revisions, which is foolish, because I can’t doing anything about it now! So I’m going to try and do a daily word count again, which I haven’t done for a while.
  5. In retrospect, I’m kind of amazed that I managed to finish my book at all. I wrote the whole story all in one shot (370,000 words at the time) then cut it up into three parts and did major revisions. About half or more of the initial draft was written while I was in the Marine Corps (including some bits written while on deployment) and then I finished it between end of service and through my first semester at university. It took me 4 years to do the whole (three book) first draft, and a year and a half to do major revisions, and another 6 months to do my agent’s revisions. So I am slow, I guess. I think I need to learn to be more efficient with my time…
  6. Baby is currently growling at the window, and I have much to do, so that is all for now!

 

Leave a Reply

