10 Useless Facts: Pt. 2

I would like to write something more purposeful and in-depth, but the snow-days are over, I am knee-deep in revisions, and I don’t know how much longer the Mousekewitz will sleep…morning naps have become rather unpredictable.
So it’s a useless facts kind of a day. 10 of them.
  1. When I was, I think, four years old, my mom asked me what I wanted for my birthday and I asked for 3 heads of lettuce. That is all. My mom felt terrible getting her kid just…lettuce. So she found a little painted ceramic lettuce pot with a rabbit lid and gave that to me. Along with 2 heads of lettuce. I was not, nor have I ever been, any variety of vegetarian. I cannot explain any of this.
  2. I have a climbing compulsion. When I see roofs, abandoned railway cars, construction equipment, abnormally large piles of dirt or wood, and especially FACTORY-SCALE LADDERS (like the kinds at coal plants!!!) I want to climb them so desperately I can barely hold my skin on. My heart is sort of racing just typing about it.
  3. I used to have a horse-riding compulsion too. I mean, I can ride a horse, but that’s not what I’m talking about. If I saw a random horse in a field or anywhere, I tried to figure out a way to ride it. Twice I managed to finagle myself onto some random saddle-less, bridle-less (read: without these you are a sack of potatoes to them) horse. Twice I quickly realized that these horses were probably going to throw me or something and this was a terrible idea, and I slipped off before I could get rammed into a tree-branch: a friend that was with me one of these times was not so lucky. She broke her ankle and got pretty well scratched up.
  4. I have been skydiving once, sort of on accident. I was sitting in the barracks common room, back in my Marine Corps days, and a few other Marines walked through the room and said “you’re coming skydiving with us! Someone else dropped out” I laughed. They came back through a few minutes later and said “Let’s go!” So I got up and went. Terrified.
  5. In light of the above: I am NOT AT ALL likely to be bullied out of any belief or conviction I hold. I love to argue and debate! But I am VERY likely to be bullied onto a rollercoaster, or a plane out of which I must jump. I like terrifying myself with that stuff, but I often need a little push, and the bullying (in this unique case) helps.
  6. I love to cook. As long as there is not a baby screaming, I find it quite relaxing.
  7. I said this in the last 10 Useless Facts, but I feel it is important to reiterate: Coffee. Or as my lovely, cheesy t-shirt says: “Coffee is proof that God loves us and wants us to pay attention!”
  8. I have five siblings and for this I am wildly grateful. I have a hard time writing any story character without siblings because it seems so SAD and unknowable. I don’t understand.
  9. I cannot match things. Colors. Clothes. Styles. House decoration type things. I DON’T UNDERSTAND.
  10. I love languages but hate grammar. I usually intuit grammar through hearing and reading, but the moment someone starts talking the details and mechanics of grammar it seems to futz with my wiring and I lose sight of everything. I am aware that this not always a good thing, but just talking about it makes me want to run for the hills.
That’s all folk! 10 useless facts for you today!
Leave a Reply

