On Sleep: It could always be worse

A short warning: this has nothing to do with anything about writing : )
So I have this sweet little picture book called It Could Always Be Worse. In it, a poor man with a big family goes to his Rabbi to complain that his house is so small and his family is so loud and they argue all the time and it is so hard. What should he do?
The Rabbi tells him to bring his chickens into the house to live. The man is confused, but he does what the Rabbi says. Naturally, the house is even more chaotic. He goes back to the Rabbi a few more times and each time, he’s sure it couldn’t possibly be worse, and each time the Rabbi suggests he bring more and more of his farm animals into the home with him.
At the end, of course, the Rabbi tells him to let all the animals out and, lo, suddenly the house feels big, and the family is so happy for the peace and quiet. The contrast has made them very grateful.
I am slow to learn lessons, but I have just had my own “It could always be worse” experience–on a very small scale, admittedly.
My first kid slept through the night–9 hours!–by 3 months. Yeah, it wasn’t perfect, sometimes he woke up at 2 am to play, but he did pretty well.
My new little one…not so much. We were almost there–7-9 hours a night!–but then he had to get his shots, and then he got a cold. That pretty much sent us back to square one. Sleeping through the night eludes us. He even wakes up when he doesn’t need to eat, and a week or so ago we had a night where he woke up on the hour every hour from 1 am to 6 am.
Before all this, I was so anxious to get that golden ‘sleeping from 8 pm to 5 am’ thing locked in. Now, after a month of waking up 2, 3, 4 times a night (even if he goes right back to sleep without even needing to be rocked, guess who doesn’t fall back asleep that easily…) a night where he only wakes up at 3 or 4 am–formerly a frustration–is suddenly magical.
I thought the house was small and the family loud and bickering. But now I would be content just to let all the animals out of the house! Let there be five or six hours of uninterrupted sleep a few nights and a row, and I may turn back into a coherent human being!
All that to say, I think I got almost five hours of uninterrupted sleep last night, I am very grateful, and I mean to put it to good use!
Leave a Reply

